ticks everywhere

I was so productive today that my head is still reeling from it. Out of 24 items on my to-do list, I accomplished 14. Admittedly, I inflated my list by including mostly items that take fewer than 5 minutes to finish, like paying bills, and things that I would have done anyway, like running and emailing friends. And I also must confess that the 10 unfinished items are mostly frustrating and time-consuming tasks that I wish would just go away, like finally unpacking all my boxes from when I moved back in December.

But productive as I was, I lost a good weekend for working in the yard. This afternoon, I went outside to pot a plant for my brother (I have this Swedish ivy that is marvelously easy to propagate and I love giving it away), and in the process I was bitten by a mosquito through my clothing. My arms were bare but it decided to leave a huge welt on my tummy. When I came indoors to nurse my wound and reward my hard work with a banana and some P.G. Wodehouse, I discovered a tick crawling up my jeans. It was a largish tick, which I gather are the less worrisome ones, but nonetheless it bothers me I that I get attacked by these things nearly every time I go into my yard, even just to admire my compost heap. And yes, I do admire my compost heap. I’ve never had a compost heap before and I keep expecting it to do magical things. So far, it is unremarkable.

But anyways, my amazing productivity pretty much came to a halt after I discovered the tick. I spent the rest of the day with the itchy paranoia that is inevitable after any tick encounter, certain that there were (and still are) armies of them crawling on my scalp and under my clothes. *shudders*

At least I can count on Lotus Batcat to keep me safe from buggies tonight.

Lotus Batcat the bug squisher
Lotus

This entry was posted in creepy crawlies, littlemiao, lotus, miao garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to ticks everywhere

  1. snoringKatZ says:

    Oh dear – ticks are never fun. The creepy crawlies after a tick sighting are almost worse than the little critter. I’m glad Lotus is there to save the day!

    • littlemiao says:

      yes, the creepy crawlies can last for hours afterwards, but the best cure is a good floofy snorgle.

      Actually, I’m still not convinced that I don’t have a few ticks burrowing their way into my scalp.

  2. Laurie says:

    The tick sighting would give me the heebie-jeebies, too!

    To make your list more manageable, you could put “Unpack one box a day” on it, instead of having the whole large chore of unpacking all the boxes there at once.

  3. crankypants says:

    “And yes, I do admire my compost heap. I’ve never had a compost heap before and I keep expecting it to do magical things. So far, it is unremarkable.”
    That ^^ made me laugh!
    Ticks, however, do not. At least it was crawling. one time (more than 10 years ago) I was driving and scratched a bump in the back of my neck, I picked at it thinking it was a little scab and it was a tick! AAACK! thankfully I wasn’t on the highway or anything and was able to pull over, chuck it out the window and compose myself. I also found one a few years back on my leg after visiting my friend’s house-in-progress which was in a newly-cleared wooded area. I was in the bath later and I thought it was a tiny scab on my shin. Nope, tick! well, make sure you at least keep your head covered outside.
    I was about the same with my list, I ‘ticked’ off a bunch of items but they were the easy tasks. Oh well. I read a lot this weekend…

    • littlemiao says:

      The little ones that can be mistaken for moles are the ones that scare me most. Luckily the ones that have been bothering me are wood ticks and supposedly they don’t carry Lyme disease.

      Sometimes I put “read novel” on my to-do list because I know it’s one thing I can accomplish.

  4. Bleh bleh bleh bleh. *shudder* Ticks are one thing I’d rather not encounter

  5. Ticks freak me out too, but so far I’ve only found them on my dog and cats. I remember scratching my dog on his neck, just under the collar where he loved it, and feeling this scabby lump on his skin. I took off his collar to check it and discovered this huge brown tick with its head buried in my baby’s neck. Local lore tells you to use a hot match head to make the tick pull out, but I was afraid I’d burn my dog, so I poured rubbing alcohol all over it. The tick jerked out and I knocked it into a paper cup, where I drowned it in more alcohol. Later someone told me I was pointlessly cruel to the tick, and I could only say, “Better him than my dog.” I normally feel some compassion for most animals, but for something that sucks blood and spreads Lyme’s disease, uh uh. I’d bury it with a stake through its heart if it was any bigger.

    • I don’t think there is such thing as being pointlessly cruel to ticks or mosquitos :p

    • littlemiao says:

      As terrified as I am by them, I can’t bring myself to kill one. However, if a tick were biting a loved one, I think I would be less forgiving. I’ll remember about the rubbing alcohol, because if I ever found a tick on one of my kitties I would certainly not want a match near their fur. I know if I do find a tick on them, they probably got it from me.

      I keep a jar in my room specifically for relocating arachnids. This was the first tick I’ve “rescued” and I hope it’s the last. With my luck, the very same tick will probably find a way back up my pantleg.

      Ugh, now I’m itchy all over again.

  6. leendadll says:

    we’re developing a wasp & yellow jacket problem around my house (I don’t know which is which but we have 2 varieties). i don’t know the sources, just that the numbers are increasing… by only a few but still increasing… every year. it’s a wonderful excuse for not doing the gardening (“but I might get STUNG!”).

    and I STILL haven’t unpacked everything from my move, 10 YEARS ago. So, no matter what, take heart in knowing you’re doing better than me!

    • littlemiao says:

      I saw one wasp about a month ago (indoors!) but thankfully I haven’t seen any more signs of them. The threat of wasp attack would definitely be a huge deterrent for working in the garden.

  7. trishc1812 says:

    ticks. ick. Too many stories to share.
    I was unable to ‘tick’ anything off of my ‘to-do’ list this past weekend.
    Oh well, there’s always next weekend. LOL!

  8. Carlisa says:

    TICKS! I have always been terrified of them, getting a little better. I was about 7y/o first time I noticed one attached to me. I ran around the house at least 4 times screaming my head off. I couldn’t understand why I couldn’t just swat it off like a spider. Haha! My mom had to grab me and hold me down to take it out,

    As far as killing them- oh yeah- in a heartbeat! Alcohol will loosen them and it’s best to use tweezers and torch them with a match or flush them. I do both! LOL- I hate them!!!. I don’t know how true it is, but I’ve heard they can grow a new body if you don’t get the head out (will check that on snopes)

    Compost piles- I had one for my garden before. Takes a long time to get going, LOL!! I was excited about mine, too, but I never admitted it to anyone, hehehe! I kept mine turned with a pitchfork and waited until the Fall to add it to the soil. I was wanting to start one here, but worried about attracting rodents and bunnies which would attract snakes. *runs around the house 20 times!!*

    • trishc1812 says:

      Heh, I was at Walmart this past weekend, in the gardening area and noticed they sell ‘snake repellent’. I was so disturbed by there only being ONE box left and the thought of having to have to use snake repellent around my HOUSE that I left the gardening area. Had this happened a couple of years ago before we moved, I would have bought stock in the company and bought a gazzilion boxes.
      *I don’t do snakes*

      • littlemiao says:

        I didn’t even know that snake repellent existed. I’m assuming there must be snakes in Wisconsin. They probably find my overgrown yard very attractive. Gosh, I’m getting anxious just thinking about it.

        I used to be hysterically terrified of snakes. When I was little in China, we visited one of the most ancient forests in the world (or at least they said it was) but I refused to go onto the trails. I was screaming and crying so much my father had to walk with me along the road while everyone else got to explore the cool forest. And my father is a great naturalist, he would have loved it. I regret it now, but I guess I was only eight or so then. Oh, and of course I got bitten by a tick on that trip even though I didn’t go into the old growth forest. My head was sore and I thought it was because my brother had hit me (we played rough) but it turned out there was a tiny little tick digging into my scalp.

        Ah, memories…

    • littlemiao says:

      yikes, I hope I’m not going to attract any snakes with my compost pile. So far, I’ve attracted flies which I guess isn’t a good thing. I need to add more leafs to it, maybe. Since my father never rakes leaves, there’s a whole bunch against the house just rotting away, practically compost already.

      I was one or two when I got bitten by a tick the first time. I don’t remember it but part of me must because ticks are possibly the scariest buggie for me. Well, spiders make me scream too but after living in a spider-infested basement for two years I became more or less immune. And as much as they revolt me, I always keep a jar in my bedroom for rescuing them. I think they know I’ll be lenient with them so that’s why they harass me so much.

      If I found a tick actually biting me, I guess I would have no choice but to kill it. Or maybe I’d just faint at the sight.

      • Carlisa says:

        Haha! Yeah, I’m more tolerant of spiders, too, but unless they’re the tiny white ones, they’re goners, too. *Heebie Jeebies*

        I’m in the country and snakes galore, but so far I’ve only come across some sheddings (down in the dang-gone cellar that I have to go into to reset a breaker today!): I didn’t mean to scare you, hon! Most snakes are harmless and are just as skeert of us as we are them. I tell you what, I’ll get a compost bin started so we can share *eeeeks*!!

Miao & Purr!

