an overwhelmed miao

To be completely honest, it doesn’t take very much to overwhelm me, and once I am overwhelmed, I tend to not bother doing anything at all. Back when I was in school, I could always study instead. Now I don’t really have that excuse any more.

The Miao Brothers’ solution to being overwhelmed: Just take a nap.
nap time for everyone

There is everything in the yard… I haven’t even started the compost pile yet. My little indoor compost pail is going to overflow soon and I still haven’t cleared the area for my compost outside.

where to start…?
overgrown

I haven’t planted my basil because I can’t decide where they should go (in a plastic planter or in the ground where it may be eaten by bunnies or other small creatures).

waiting basil…
basil

I haven’t figured out how to repair the old shower that goes with my claw-foot bathtub so I can finally start using it. I don’t think it has been used as long as we have owned the house. Something is wrong with it but the parts just look so ancient I wonder if they are still made. Hardware stores smell strange and tend to be overwhelming. I think this shower thing is beyond my expertise, but I promised Chun I would do my best because he misses playing with a shower curtain and the other shower has a glass folding door that frustrates him. There just doesn’t seem to be a point hanging a curtain if I’m never going to use the shower, and besides that bathroom is so much nicer than the other one with the functional shower.

I haven’t disposed of the now-dried lilacs that I had decorating my room because I’m so sad that lilacs are done for the year (some varieties are still in bloom but not the ones in the Miao garden).

I haven’t cleaned the fridge – no matter how careful I am, my kombucha pitcher always creates a little puddle on the top shelf and it is sticky and gross and it bothers me every time I open the fridge. I also suspect that I have rotting apples somewhere back in there, and possibly a rutabaga that I bought in February. How long do they last?

Oh, and have I mentioned that I still have three or four boxes that I haven’t completely unpacked since I moved back in December?

Maybe if I take a nap, the Miao Bros will take care of everything before I wake up.
napping

This entry was posted in chun, littlemiao, miao brothers, miao garden. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to an overwhelmed miao

  1. Laurie says:

    I hear you LittleM. It’s easy to get overwhelmed. We would make a good pair today. I’ve had all day since 1 p.m. to write and I’ve only done a little bit of research, no actual composition, nothing will come. I also have cupcakes for work to decorate with a new technique I wanted to try and now it just seems too hard. I haven’t thought of what to make dinner yet and it’s 8 p.m. and my stomach is rumbling. I bailed on everything and just watched a National Geographic special on raptors. Macaroon liked that and tried catching them on screen. It seems so much easier to do nothing and just wait for tomorrow (except for eating, I suppose). We both need Miaos to do our chores (since I know my kitties won’t!).

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    I sit on the couch with my laptop when I’m overwhelmed. Sometimes just getting started on one small thing is the only way I can un-whelm. Sometimes I just can’t even do that. Hug a fluffy kitty. That should help a little, maybe?

  3. A nap is a good way to let the subconscious sort things out. πŸ˜€

    That said, you can always put your basil in a plastic planter and transfer it to the garden once that’s slightly tamed. As for where to start, pick a spot. Work on that spot for awhile. If you get tired of it, you can always go do something else for a bit before going back to that first spot

  4. You’ll be fine πŸ™‚ One day soon you’ll jus decide to start on one of your projcets, and then the others will follow without any fuss. Take a nap with the kitties in the meantime

  5. Carlisa says:

    Oh wow…I know that feeling all too well, hon. FC is right. I owe you guys a post and I think it might help you. I have a lot of the same *carp* going on, hon. [grabs Lm’s paw….umm…hand] ;P Keep ur chin up! (don’t reply- we’ll catch up laterz!)

  6. Lauri says:

    This happens to me ALL the time.
    But I try to casually think of ONE thing I want to get done the next day. Something very small. One 12 inch by 12 inch area weeded. Or fill a bird feeder.
    Sometimes I get that done, sometimes I don’t, but usually I will start that and go on to actually do MORE.
    Motivation is such an evasive thing!

    • littlemiao says:

      I took your advice and started weeding the area by my rosebush. It really felt good to pull those things out of the ground, and I’m generally not a violent person… most of the weeds are practically trees or bushes, with thick woody stems and deeper roots. some I had to cut off close to the ground because I couldn’t pull them out no matter how I tried. When I pulled out one particularly large one, I was delighted to find some pretty flowers blooming behind it. I’ll have to photograph them and maybe you can help me identify them.

      I haven’t done any more weeding since Sunday though, even though I’ve had the time. *sigh* my motivation is so short-lived.

      • Lauri says:

        I love how it feels to get something accomplished. I just wish I did it more often! Ha!
        But I figure that a day that I take care of my plants and critters, work if I have to, and then get one other thing accomplished is a success. Oh heck….some days just taking care of the critters is enough!

        I don’t know the secret to motivation! This week I have done nothing much but work. But that’s ok.
        I would love to see the flowers you uncovered! It’s amazing once you start weeding how happy the plants that get left become!

  7. LBeeeze says:

    I went through an incredibly stressful period with my job. I’m still going through lots of changes there, but at least I seem to be heading in the right direction. When I get stressed I find that I need at least some time to sit and do nothing.

    • littlemiao says:

      my problem is that i take too much time to sit and do nothing. 😦 or, these days, eat and watch netflix.

      i hope things get easier at work for you. *hugs* but knowing you’re headed in the right direction is a big comfort. i think i’m headed in the right direction too, the problem is just that i’m not moving!

Miao & Purr!

