wild ginger + mint?

I’m pretty sure this is wild ginger. Unfortunately, it is inedible so I cannot consider it part of my herb garden. In Chinese herbal medicine, wild ginger is a powerful warming medicinal that is used for things such as pneumonia and asthma, and overuse may cause renal problems.

wild ginger

wild ginger flower
wild ginger flower

And I suspect that this is mint. It grows randomly around the yard, and I’m wondering if it is edible? Can I harvest the leafs for my tea?
06042011_mint 6-4-2011 5-27-18 PM

This entry was posted in miao garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to wild ginger + mint?

  1. Lurkertype says:

    That looks like either peppermint or spearmint. Break a leaf in half and smell it.

  2. It probably is mint, but be careful with any plant you didn’t personally put into the ground yourself. When they were living in Japan, my daughter’s roommate dug up some bulbs which she insisted were wild onions, and made a stew with them. An hour later both of them were horribly sick. As luck would have it, they were daffodil bulbs, which are poisonous. They were lucky they got nothing worst than stomach aches and all-night vomiting. When I finally heard that story though, a clump of my hair instantly turned white. :0

    If you want to try it, take a tiny bit, wash it thoroughly, and taste it. If it’s bitter at all or you feel a burning sensation on your tongue, spit it out. Mint usually has a herbal, minty (of course) taste and it shouldn’t burn (which is evidence that you’re eating an alkaloid-based poisonous plant).

    • littlemiao says:

      *gulp* scary! I will be careful with the mint. I was tempted to eat the wild ginger but luckily another friend advised against it… I will resist all urges to eat unidentified plants.

      At least I know that it is all organic, pesticide-free since it was growing in my yard.

  3. Lauri says:

    Good info, HG!
    The wild ginger has such pretty leaves and that flower is fascinating!

    • littlemiao says:

      i think my mother, who no longer lives in this house, planted the wild ginger originally, but now i have seen it crop up in several places in the yard.

  4. doranyc says:

    You can totally use that mint.

  5. zigzagmags says:

    i’ve never seen ginger plants in real life – very pretty!! đŸ™‚

Miao & Purr!

