More Chun fun in the kitchen

Chun likes hanging out in the kitchen. He always tags along with me wherever I go, and I often set up my laptop on the kitchen table when I want to get work done. Like I’m supposed to be doing now. He also is always on the lookout for yummy treats which usually originate in the kitchen.

Today, I discovered another of his favorite kitchen activities. It is not dangerous like playing on the stove or sticking his paws into the toaster, but it is somewhat disturbing. It all started rather benignly. He likes my veggie scrub brush. It’s the perfect size for batting around and making satisfying clunking noises when it falls. It is wooden and the bristles are some kind of wood-like fiber as well, and it must feel good under his paws because he likes pawing at it. Usually it is by the dish drainer.

So, I was dutifully working at my computer, with Prince Tweets on the table keeping me company. Out of the corner of my eye, I could see Chun playing with the veggie brush. Then he started nosing the clean spoons in the dish drainer, and within moments, he was licking the silverware and the big soup ladle. I washed them last night and I swear they were sparkling clean. He likes soup, especially the orange beet soup we’ve been having for the last few days, but I refuse to believe that there could possibly be soup residue on silverware and utensils that I washed.

I don’t know what disturbs me more: the fact that Chun may have been licking our clean silverware for who knows how long, or that dishes washed by me do not pass his test for cleanliness.

This entry was posted in chun. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More Chun fun in the kitchen

  1. Lurkertype says:

    I think if you washed them with hot water and soap, he must be licking your clean silverware. Disturbing indeed. Tortie and Tux both lick plastic. Also, I don’t think I’d want anything scrubbing my veggies that hit the floor or got pawed by someone who (after all) stands in his toilet. But at least he won’t hurt himself.

    Silly Chun! He’s like the stripey version of TK.

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    I find it rather hilarious and think Surely would be so happy if she lived with people who let her walk on tables and countertops. We’re so mean!

    • littlemiao says:

      Before I moved back to Miao Town, my roommate and I tried to keep Chun off the table and counters, but his favorite thing to do was knock stuff off of them when we weren’t around.

      Here in the Miao House, it’s a lost cause.

  3. LBeeeze says:

    I think Chun is being a stinker.

  4. Vered says:

    why does it bother you? when you were little, you used to say that your water was “blessed” if the cats drank out of your cup. so, now your silverware is blessed! did you convert to a different religion at some point without me noticing?

  5. lauowolf says:

    Awwwww, he’s just imitating Mom,and helping.
    An entirely sweet boy.

Miao & Purr!

