The stove is not a toy!

Chun likes to play on the stove. Whenever I see him there, I make loud noises and tell him no and plop him on the floor. He only behaves for a moment before he’s back, unless I distract him with a mousie. Thank goodness he has never jumped on the stove while it is hot.

Today, he climbed on the back of the stove, above the temperature dials and started pushing them with his paws, like he was trying to turn the burners on. Maybe I can teach him how to scramble tofu and make chickpea curry. One thing I cannot manage to teach him, however, is basic personal safety. At least it’s an electric stove – no open flame.

Everything I do is cute because I can’t help it.
chun nose, jan 2011

This entry was posted in chun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The stove is not a toy!

  1. You need a squirt bottle for that mischievous kitteh!

    • littlemiao says:

      My roommate back in MN had a squirt bottle that we had to use quite often, but I don’t have one in the Miao House because the Miao Bros are so well behaved.

      • Sounds like it’s time to get one, especially if he’s turning dials

        • littlemiao says:

          Yes, I’m adding that to my shopping list.

          Given how naughty he was back in MN (always bothering the plants and knocking every little thing on the floor, especially at 3am), he is amazingly well-behaved in the Miao House. The Miao Brothers must be a good influence for him. Now they just need to teach him some basic kitchen safety.

  2. Laurie says:

    At my new apartment, the stove is one of those totally flat-burnered ones, so to the cats it just looks like any other flat counter space, and they’re up on it all the time. I worry about them, too. The stove has a nice indicator light to tell people when the surface remains hot after the burner is off, but that doesn’t work for cats. I try to leave a pot lid or something over the hot burner till it cools down, because I can’t watch them every second.

    • littlemiao says:

      I’ve often wondered how people with cats manage if they have one of those flat stovetops. Maybe I should leave pot lids over hot burners too, just in case.

      • Jaypo says:

        I have a flat-top stove, but there’s a window right next to it, so you can imagine which is more interesting to a kitty.

        Once I got one of those natural cat repellent sprays to keep him off the dining table. I sprayed it on a paper towel and left it on the table. He was laying on it next time I saw him.

  3. Laurie says:

    That is troubling about Chun playing with the dials. We all want Chun to be safe, even if he can’t be good!

  4. Eleanor says:

    This is a constant battle in my house too. Why are cats so obsessed with ovens (and kitchen sinks, in my case)? I’m going to try the water squirter approach.

  5. Jaypo says:

    Chun, you veddy veddy bad boy!! I just had an idea. How about a couple of cake cooling racks or something that’s unpleasant to walk on…

Miao & Purr!

