jeans that don’t fit, and other miao updates

I have some Miao photos from March that I still haven’t uploaded yet. It has been ages since I’ve taken new ones. I guess I have been busy, but not that busy, and taking Miao photos is a priority.

The Miaos are happy and the snow is finally melting.

There have been many Merpuff sightings here, of the ruby-throated and the even rarer lavender-throated varieties.

I haven’t been on WordPress much, I feel so out of touch with everyone, but I don’t know what I’ve been doing instead since it is not like I have been more productive. I haven’t gone running, I haven’t cooked much yummy food, I haven’t read any books, and in general I haven’t had any fun.

I seem to have an issue finding jeans that fit. I don’t know if it is because they just don’t make them my size, or I get too impatient after trying a couple pairs on that I settle for whatever. A couple weeks ago, I bought two new pairs of jeans and I was really excited about them because they fit so well, or so I thought. Today was the first day I wore them. I discovered that the legs are considerably too long, which was the main issue with my previous jeans, the ones I was replacing. Now, I *know* I tried these on, and I even got a size smaller than before. I also know that my legs cannot possibly be shrinking in length, especially not over the space of a couple weeks. I am exceedingly confused. I must have thought they fit or else I wouldn’t have bought them. I know I need to get petites or short length or whatever, but for some inexplicable reason, I never do. So now I wasted money on jeans that are too long and that I will have to wear anyways. They are at least three to five inches too long. What happens is they become frayed around the hem area until it looks like some kind of cloth-eating dust bunny was chasing me and chomping at my heels. In the winter and rainy weather, they get horribly muddy and wet. Some part of me, deep down inside, must really want jeans that are too long, or maybe I just can’t admit to myself that I’m not quite as tall as average, or I’m simply so used to ill-fitting jeans that I don’t notice anymore.

The Batcat’s solution to clothes that don’t fit: wear pajamas all day
jan 2007 (17)

This entry was posted in littlemiao and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to jeans that don’t fit, and other miao updates

  1. Drude says:

    you COULD consider perhaps maybe cutting off the excess leg length and sewing the hem again… I know it’s a faff.. but if the rest of them fit you.. it may be less of a faff than having to go and get new ones again.

  2. I agree, just get them hemmed. i have the same problem.. i eventually just cut off the stragglers when they get ugly on the back of the cuff..

    Or wear heels all the time and avoid dragging them LOL

    I have really good luck with Old Navy jeans and you can shop online for different sizes if they dont have’em in store..

    • littlemiao says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one with this problem. With my last pair of jeans, I had to cut off the stragglers too. In bad weather, when I come inside, I make such a mess with mud and sand and stuff stuck to the cuffs.

  3. crankypants says:

    If it’s only been a couple weeks, can’t you still return them or exchange them? or did you cut the tags off/throw away the receipt/whatever?
    I have a hard time finding jeans too, or I used to, so when I find a pair of jeans I like, I try to buy a second pair or else make sure I can find them again (easy enough to do, usually, with Levi’s which is mostly what I wear). Which of course, you did (buy a 2nd pair)….
    hopefully with spring you will perk up a bit. I am trying to come out of the winter blahs.

    • littlemiao says:

      I wish I had saved the receipt etc, but I was so sure they fit. 😦 Next time! I refuse to make the same mistake over and over.

      Warmth and sunshine makes such a difference in my general state of motivation.

  4. Laurie says:

    I agree with the ladies above. If you don’t want to do the sewing, any drycleaners will do the alterations for probably not too much.

    Merpuff sightings, yay!

  5. Lauri says:

    There is such a nice lady in our town that does alterations. And her husband collects, makes and sells maple syrup. I took my dress for the wedding there (I bought a couple of sizes bigger cuz I liked it and there were no others). She took it in for me and is now in possession of that dress and Ashlee’s wedding dress to steam the wrinkles out of them!
    Hey, I should have left my face there. Ha….ha.

    Self run alterations ladies are much cheaper than dry cleaners…but either one is well worth it…they will be the perfect length and will look professionally done.

  6. Lurkertype says:

    Alterations ladies are the way to go. Many of them support or help support their families, plus they’re cheaper than dry cleaners and such.

    I have trouble finding petite/short jeans. I buy them when I can, otherwise I just roll up the bottoms. I don’t care if it’s out of style or what, I roll them till they’re short enough to clear the ground.

    Glad to hear the Merpuff is active with the coming of spring, just like the other birds.

  7. AuntieBellum says:

    I have the opposite problem. I have trouble finding pants that are long enough.

    Coldwater Creek recently started carrying longer lengths, but the trouble is that their regular pants go up to 32 inches, which is too short, and their long pants start at 35 inches, which is too long. I need 33-34 inches.

    Lands’ End lets you specify the length of your pants and jeans, but their quality has gone down so much since they were acquired by Sears that it’s a letdown to buy their stuff now.

    • I have that exact same problem! I hate being in between the average and tall sizes. :p Wouldn’t it be nice if our jean sizing was like what you’d find in the men’s department…and sizes were all in inches?

  8. Get someone to sew it for you 🙂

  9. Lurkertype says:

    Does your mom have any seamstress patients, or your dad know any students who can sew and might like to make a couple of bucks?

Miao & Purr!

