A Little Merlin Update

Thank you, everyone, for all of your good thoughts for Little Merlin.

I brought Merlin to the vet when I took Prince Tee for his regular appointment. Tweets came back with me, but Merp stayed the day. There’s mixed news for both of them. Tweets, who I thought was doing great apart from losing a bit of weight, seems to be showing signs of hyperthyroidism. Also, there was blood and cloudiness in his urine sample. Given his history of renal issues, I’m really worried. šŸ˜¦

The doctor complimented him on his gorgeous coat, and he’s been preening ever since.

So, Merlin stayed at the vet’s for the day and they did more tests and stuff. It looks like the swelling on his chin is an infection, so he’ll be on antibiotics. This is all in addition to his renal issues. But the doctor, who saved Prince Tee’s life back in 2009, was really impressed by Merlin’s alertness. She said he’s “a real little trooper” and she and her assistants thought he had a lot of spunk. They said that despite everything he’s dealing with physically, he wasn’t acting like a sick cat. That really gave me hope.

Since bringing him home just a short while ago, he returned to his nap spot on my bed (with Mani). He never used to go upstairs or nap on my bed, until a few months ago. He’s been more social in the last few months than he was when he was younger. And his arthritis must not be bothering him as much because he’s climbing the stairs and jumping onto higher places.

Also, they cleaned him up and trimmed some of his fur, so he’s a lot more clean and comfy.

Now we’re just waiting on the lab work so we know what’s up with Prince Tee, and if Merp’s infection is something that he can fight off given his fragile state.

I’m really worried for my Miaos and I know it is hard on Papa Miao to see them suffer at all. We’re trying to do what is best for them, to keep them happy and healthy as long as possible. I’m also really worried because the medical expenses add up and I’m not earning any money yet. I should be studying for my final board exam. If I fail it, it will be a waste of $300+ dollars, actually double that because I will have to retake it. But so many things come up and before I know it another day has gone and I’m that much less prepared for my exam.

Thank you for your continued good thoughts for the Miao Bros.

*purrs* from Merp & Prince Tee for everyone

This entry was posted in littlemiao, miao updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Little Merlin Update

  1. crankypants says:

    oh no, about Prince Tee! I hope he’s okay. Glad to hear Merlin seems comfortable and spunky, I hope it’s a good sign for him. Fingers crossed and sending out lots of Miao mojo from PA!

  2. Drude says:

    fingers crossed that it can all be fixed. Your vets sound like lovely people.

  3. best wishes! ((((hugs and purrs))))

  4. Lurkertype says:

    Doesn’t Tashi have a thyroid condition? Makes sense his twin would too. Sounds like Tantra doesn’t think there’s anything wrong with him (of course).

    A clean non-creaky Merp! How wonderful. I feel icky when I have an infection, no matter what age, so hopefully the antibiotics will perk him up. We need our Ornifelis rubioris.

    Money comes and goes, but kitties are more important.

    • littlemiao says:

      Exactly, kitties are so much more important. But I wish I could help Papa Miao more.

      I had the same thought about Tashi and his twin with the hyperthyroidism – you’d think there really has to be a genetic link.

  5. Lauri says:

    It sounds very hopeful to me! Some antibiotics will hopefully do wonders for Merlin’s chin infection. I, too, am impressed by your vet’s office! They sound like very caring people.
    You are taking care of the brothers as no one else can!

  6. Laurie says:

    Merlin’s expressive little face has always shown a lot of spunk. Now his spunk is officially confirmed.

    Hugs to all of you at the Miao house!

  7. lauowolf says:

    Sending good thoughts.

  8. Jaypo says:

    Awwww, Merpuff doesn’t want you to worry so much about him, see. Sending lots of healing thoughts to you. How fortunate your vet office is so caring, too. I’m sure they love the Miaos as much as you do.

  9. snoringKatZ says:

    If love could heal booboos, Merpie and His Highness would both be super-powered. You and Papa Miao are doing all you can for them and, no matter what, they know that and love you will all their floofy hearts. They’ll also be very proud of you when you pass your exam. šŸ™‚

  10. robpixaday says:

    O!!!! ((((((((((hugs)))))))))))
    I’m sending warm hugs and healing purrs to you all !!!!!!!

Miao & Purr!

