Vox Hunt: Shhh!

Book: Show us a book that made you laugh out loud.
Submitted by Red Pen.

Hot Water
P.G. Wodehouse

I read this a couple years ago, probably the last time I laughed out loud while reading a book – truly laughing, not just laughing out of sheer frustration or incredulity.  Papa Miao has a huge collection of Wodehouse novels and they (almost) always make for a good, lighthearted read.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Vox Hunt: Shhh!

  1. IG says:

    mr. IG is a huge p.g. wodehouse fan too, LM. he quotes them to me sometimes. i do believe they helped form his character, which can be good or bad i guess, depending on your pov. 🙂

  2. mariser says:

    I vote for good. Wodehouse is very much a LOL kinda of guy. the only author that comes close (and surprise, surprise, also British) is Jerome K. Jerome and his masterpiece three men in a boat (to say nothing of the dog), a book that has made me LOLed many, many times during many many passages. and it is quite short, to boot.

  3. little miao says:

    I'll have to check that out, mariser!I've not quite gotten to the point where I can quote Wodehouse, but there's still hope…

  4. Brown Suga' says:

    I love Wodehouse too! 🙂 So does my mom. How can you ignore names like Pongo Twistleton-Twistleton, and where else can you find a knowitall butler named Jeeves, a Psmith with a P, and huge pig called the "Empress of Blandings"?

  5. Lauri says:

    Oh boy oh boy. I have a Wodehouse book here somewhere and I have never read any of them….now I have to find it!!!

  6. mariser says:

    not to mention that Wodehouse's "Jeeves & Wooster" stories have been made into a fantastic bbc series starring the future mr. Subhangi (once she breaks up his marriage) ;P and a possible mariser's affair-on-the-side once she convinces him to switch teams. there was a discussion of said series in teh disapproving white kittehs post in CO which also featured NTMTOM hilarious discussion between Baxter and Samuel, and cranky's aka ceebs discovery of the disapproving white kittehs to Anderson Cooper (erm, Coopurr), making said post the greatest bestest awesomest post evar in the history of CO

  7. mariser says:

    on the above post there should have been a resemblancebetween the words kittehs and AndersonImy apologies

  8. little miao says:

    I've gotta watch that series now. The BBC is great. I remember watching a few episodes of Jeeves and Wooster when I was little, it was in B&W, but this must be much more recent. I must check it out.I remember Cranky's great Anderson Coopurr post from a while ago, but I never saw it on CO! This is turning into a very exciting afternoon. 🙂

  9. Alex says:

    I LOVE Wodehouse. He never fails to crack me up. I haven't read this book, though, I'll have to check it out!

  10. Brown Suga' says:

    Oi Mariser, don't give me ideas. 😉

Miao & Purr!

