Back from the vet

Not our regular vet because the drive is too long. The one we saw was good, though I did miss our regular vet. So, no surprise after hearing his snuffles this morning, he has an upper respiratory infection. His lungs sounded clear but his throat not so much. He has a bit of a fever, just over 103, and he was dehydrated. They gave him the 2-week antibiotic shot. They said he should get some subcutaneous fluids for the dehydration. Since we’ve been doing sub-Q fluids for others for years, I said we could do that ourselves. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

There is a chance that the others will get it. It is hard to say. It would be very difficult for us to keep him separate from the others without traumatizing, and they have already shared dishes and water and nap spots.

When we got home, he was a lot perkier than he has been in the last two days. Walking around, not quite jauntily but interested in his surroundings. It could be the adrenaline from his vet visit, since strangers make him so anxious, but if he were feeling really lousy, I don’t think he’d be acting better now.

Doing the fluids ourselves was maybe not such a great idea. When we got home and tried it, he was furious. He is a strong kitty. Our attempted ended when he hissed and bit me and twisted the needle out. The bite didn’t hurt or leave a mark. He was being thoughtful. He got maybe a third of what they recommended so we will have to do it again tonight. But he meandered downstairs a few minutes later, after giving me a look, and had a little drink of water. Not much, but some, and soon we will give him nice gravy-rich canned food. I also put a couple extra water dishes upstairs to entice him.

So the vet, apart from saying there isn’t any way to really know what it is, which is what I expected to hear, didn’t say anything alarming about his condition. No one else has sneezed, although it is not out of the ordinary for them to sneeze now and then. She said that it might last a week and not to be alarmed if his lethargy continues for a few days. Since he is already doing better this morning now, I’m cautiously optimistic.

This entry was posted in chun, miao updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back from the vet

  1. Laurie says:

    We all feel rather un-perky when we have upper respiratory infections, my sympathies to Chun. I hope he feels better soon. I can imagine the look he gave you after the IV fluids attempt. I could never really get the hang of doing those when I had a cat who needed them, luckily I had a partner who could.

    • littlemiao says:

      I am okay with it so long as the kitty is cooperative. Chun is not cooperative.

      A few weeks ago I did sub-Q fluids for Ping for the first time (Papa Miao broke his arm so I had no choice) and I had a real scare. I hadn’t done fluids in years, since Prince T. I had to poke him twice and he bled and I was afraid it wouldn’t stop and/or I had punctured some major organ, though in retrospect everything was okay. I learned that I cannot do it while sleep deprived, though, which is kind of a constant state of being for me right now. :(

  2. I hope he’ll perk up soon! ((((hug))))

  3. Lauri says:

    Very good news! Some cats do get quite uncomfortable with upper respiratory infections. Ken sees them a lot in the spring and the late summer/fall.

    • littlemiao says:

      it is funny how i have had kitties all my life and never really encountered many upper respiratory issues, or maybe they were there but nothing seemed serious enough to warrant much attention.

  4. Great……paws crossed the treatment works for him – AND hopefully it doesn’t “get” the rest of the family!

    Hugs, Sammy and his Mom

  5. Also keeping my paws crossed. Get better soon, Chun!

  6. littlemiao says:

    thank you, peeps! he is perking up. paws crossed. he has done a lot of Choopy things this evening, including a nice little dinner and socializing and jumping onto the high cupboard and washing his face and almost no snuffling. so relieved.

  7. Mark's Mews says:

    We rwe sure glad OUR v-e-t is only 3 miles away. Less time in the PTUs!

  8. AuntieBellum says:

    Awww! Get well soon, Mr. Chun! (((hugs)))

Miao & Purr!

