Chun isn’t feeling well

Last night he was fine, except for sneezing a few times in a row. He vomited early in the morning and probably had a hairball (it’s hard to tell who they belong to unless you witness the act). He didn’t want breakfast or any of his favorite treats. All he wanted to do was nap. When I encouraged him to drink water, he went right back to his spot on the chair. Noonish, I convinced him to eat some food a couple times. He acted skeptical at first but then he gobbled it up hungrily. Other times he ignores the food. He hasn’t been active at all. He got spooked by Papa Miao coming through the front door and ran upstairs, but other than that he has stayed put. He did use the litter box once, when I set him in it. He hasn’t vomited at all since very early morning (4ish). Now he is continuing to nap on my bed. I gave him a little bit of natural hairball remedy this afternoon. When he naps, he doesn’t necessarily seem completely restful. That may be because I keep staring at him and bothering him. The way things have been going in every other area of my life, it is hard not to fear worst case scenarios, but it didn’t seem justified to take him to the vet yet today. It isn’t uncommon for him (or any of the other kitties) to take super long naps, especially if he has been more active at night (which I don’t know for certain since I was asleep). And since he so rarely has hairballs, maybe they affect him more than the other Miao Brothers. The hairball by itself doesn’t worry me, nor does the lack of appetite (though generally he has a great appetite, he can get finicky and if one day he eats a lot, the next day he may eat less and a flavor he likes one day will be rejected the next). What worries me is that he has been so un-active all day. He usually follows me around whatever I’m doing and tries to get into closed rooms and asks for treats etc. If he isn’t back to normal by tomorrow morning, I will have to take him to the vet. I don’t work until the afternoon but I would cancel my patients if I had to. I hope it is just an upset tummy but I’m very worried. Since I’m very worried about so many things, little things, big things, reasonable things, ridiculous things, it is hard to know what things are actually deserving of worry. So I chose to wait to tomorrow to decide whether he needs to see the vet, and I hope it was not the wrong choice.

This entry was posted in chun, miao updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Chun isn’t feeling well

  1. Lauri says:

    He may just have a little respiratory virus. But, yes, if he seems unlike himself take him to the vet tomorrow.
    I hate feeling like that. Worrying about a lot of things. It’s not easy to get rid of those feelings. Our heads tell us that worry doesn’t do any good, but well, it doesn’t always make us stop. Hang in there, Little M. Email me if you want to talk! laurihs@gmail.com
    Hugs!

  2. rumpydog says:

    I hope it turns out to be a little thing.

  3. Oh, poor Chun! It sounds like it might be something he ate? Cats are worrisome things. They can complain about the food, their beds being moved to the wrong spot, the litter in their boxes: but when they get sick, they just curl up and say not a thing. I hope tomorrow things are better.

  4. Laurie says:

    Oh, Chun, please perk up and don’t worry Little Miao so!

  5. lauowolf says:

    Poor both of you.
    It is coming on spring, even if the weather isn’t cooperating there is still the length of the day.
    Maybe he’s beginning to shed a bit, and it’s bothering his tummy?
    Doc had long-distance sympathy hairball this morning, but he’d been eating grass.
    (The jerk.)
    Hope he’s his properly attentive self tomorrow.

  6. Emmy says:

    Aw, poor Chun. If the vet says it’s a URI, ask the vet about bringing him in the shower (room) when you shower. That will clear his sinuses. Is he vaccinated with FVRCP? Cats can still get awful colds sometimes.

  7. knotrune says:

    I think you made a sensible choice. A change in behaviour is worrying, but anyone can have an off day, it is good to give a kitty the chance to get well by themselves rather than stress them by taking them to the vet at any sign of trouble (I leant this the hard way!) But if it goes on into a second day then it is wise to get a vet’s opinion. I hope Chun is back to normal by the time you get this :)

  8. I think “wait and see” often is the best choice and nobody knows our cats better than we do…..totally out of character behavior is one thing but a day or two of extra napping and lower appetite isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Sam is 14 now so not active AT ALL, but he eats when he’s hungry and sleeps when he’s thirsty and only occasionally vomits (usually because he’s gorged himself on food or had too much grass!)……his vet says he’s in great shape for an old guy…..YOU will know when Chun needs to go get checked out – and today might be the day. Trust your instincts!

    Hugs, Pam

  9. littlemiao says:

    thank you, peeps, for your thoughts.

    he came downstairs for breakfast this morning and ate a decent portion, but i am planning to take him to the vet because his energy is still low (he just wants to nap) and he was snuffly/sneezy a few times this morning.

  10. littlemiao says:

    Chun (at least since his kitten months before i got him) hasn’t had any vaccinations other than rabies. i don’t know why i didn’t get him vaccinated, since i got Sprocket vaccinated. it doesn’t make sense. i wasn’t thinking clearly and i was negligent. :(

  11. lauowolf says:

    (it’s hard to tell who they belong to unless you witness the act)

    Shades of Spinal Tap!
    All these years and they still can’t test for vomit.

  12. leendadll says:

    since I’m catching up in reverse, I’m glad to read that it looks like everything is okay now.
    When espressa won’t eat/drink I can usually get her to lap up extra-liquidfied “gravy” from the gravy in shredded Friskies gushy food.

Miao & Purr!

