discouraging

so now I have to pay $35 to talk to the vet for 30 minutes to answer questions they should have answered after Sprocket’s office visit on 15 Nov? wtf?

Sprocket was *much* better last week but this week has gradually gotten worse until last night and this morning he had major recurrences again. the worsening symptoms have coincided with the tapering of his medication to half a tablet (corticosteroids) every other day. the major improvement in his symptoms coincided with eliminating Indigo Moon (grain-free) crunchies form his diet and giving him only canned (grain-free) food. The major triggers for his episodes are still excitement, especially over food but also playtime.

This has been a really bad month for so many reasons I don’t even know where to start, but at least Sprocket was improving. And now he’s not.

I should have been more persistent with the vet at the beginning, but I wasn’t. I haven’t contacted them since before my last post where peeps encouraged me to ask to speak to the vet. I was overly optimistic. And now I regret not being more persistent. Also, I don’t charge patients money to talk on the phone with me to resolve issues that arose because I didn’t take the time to help them when they needed it. So now I have to pay them in order to avoid having my routine questions (like, what is the rationale behind this course of treatment?) lost in the shuffle between different assistants.

I asked Papa Miao to talk to the vet because I am just too frustrated, with myself and the clinic in equal measure. I realize that I am partially taking my frustration out on the vet because they are obviously an easy target, but they wouldn’t be such an easy target if they had answered my basic questions at the beginning and demonstrated rudimentary concern over the situation and a desire to get to the bottom of it. I don’t expect them to work miracles (though they have in the past), but I do expect them to be thorough. /rant

This entry was posted in miao updates, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to discouraging

  1. lauowolf says:

    Rant away.
    Sounds like a problem to me, and this is Sprocket’s care you are worrying about.
    One thing, it might help to jot down all your issues before you talk to the vet.
    Make them numbered bullet points on a list.
    It helps to actually write it out, because it makes you consciously formulate what your questions are to begin with.
    And then, before you hang up, double check that you have gotten all the answers you needed, point by point.
    Because it is almost impossible to do this all in your head when things are going on, and you will inevitably get side tracked by some answer or another, and end up never raising all the points you meant to cover.
    Been there, done that.
    This has been my big take-away from pretty much a solid year of dealing with lots of doctors.

  2. It’s just not right that this has gone on for so long without your questions being addressed AND with Sprocket still not “normalized” in every way. When things are wrong, they should be fixed – period. I’m just so sorry you’re having this frustrating experience and I’m praying it gets resolved SOON. It’s supposed to be a happy holiday time of the year – not a frustrating and sad and worrisome one.

    We send hugs of comfort……
    Pam and Sam

  3. leendadll says:

    that’s f-ed up. no vet should charge for a phone convo. i mean, i get that it’s their time but it’s also their living and blahblahblah… you know so i don’t need to repeat your frustrations.

    everything i read about the rippling said it can go on for awhile then magically disappear – frustrating as hell for owners & kitties. i’m sending good jujus to all of you!!

  4. Cats & Co says:

    I agree, 35 dollars for 30 minutes, and charged for a phone convo? Come on. :/
    Maybe you can find another vet for a second opinion and for better treatment? Not just for Sprocket, but a vet who also treats their clients better?

  5. Mark's Mews says:

    Our Best Purrs of Healing to Sprocket…

  6. Carlisa says:

    Discouraging indeed! I’m sorry to hear his improvement turned around. I think you should do as Lauo says and jot all that stuff down. Don’t feel like you’re taking it out on the vet, you’re paying for them to tell you what’s wrong! Do you think maybe a second opinion for at least this one incident? (I see that was also suggested by CnC.) They may stuck in one mindset of the problem and missing something else totally! Hugs to you and Sprocket. Hope you find the answers.

  7. Laurie says:

    I hope you will get some useful answers that you can work with. (((Hugs)))

  8. Oh noes. I’m so sorry to read this. But you shouldn’t be frustrated about yourself and what you did or didn’t do. The vet should be here to answer your questions about the treatment, and make sure you have no question or that everything is clear. When we kitties are having health issues, the humans are usually really worried and the vet humans know that.
    I sure hope you can get your answers. Please keep us posted, We’ll purr for Sprocket.

  9. Redscylla says:

    Grrr. I am so sad to hear that Sprocket has had a set back, but your vet is pissing me off. That’s how my old vet was acting. Couldn’t be bothered to answer your basic questions and now acts like you’re stealing their time?? I hope you can find a second opinion that will help get Sprocket on the road to recovery.

  10. dianabuja says:

    I am so sorry and hope that the issue can be soon sorted out! Sprocket is one of my favorite kitties! :-)

  11. aubrey says:

    When Aubrey (my parents’ cat) wakes up from her 18 hour nap she will send purrs of sympathy to you and the Sprocket and nips of displeasure to your vet!

  12. Any update on Sprockets sprockey-ness returning, Littlemiao? Grizzly and I have been wondering about the little guy…

Miao & Purr!

