Sunday Sprocket update

Sprocket’s improvement has held up overall over the weekend. He isn’t symptom-free but he is doing so much better. He is enjoying his days rather than acting reclusive and depressed and afraid to run around.


Untitled by Miao Miao Miao on 500px.com
Sprocket in his fleecie bed


Untitled by Miao Miao Miao on 500px.com
Seriously Sprocket

Sometime this past week before he started improving more consistently, I stopped giving him the grain-free Indigo Moon crunchies because it seemed like giving him the crunchies would often trigger an episode. It may not be anything in the food because sometimes an episode would start before the crunchies were even served. Perhaps the excitement of anticipating the crunchies that he loves was the trigger. It is also possible that the correlations were nothing more than coincidental. Other episodes seem to be triggered by increased activity – one happened when he was feeling better and chasing Lotus, another happened after I played feathers with him. For the time being, at least, I am eliminating the crunchies from his diet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunday Sprocket update

  1. Lurkertype says:

    Glad to hear it! Even if just getting excited triggers it, getting rid of the crunchies till he recovers is a good idea.

  2. nadbugs says:

    He *looks* great . . . . Paws crossed.

  3. Sprocket, you look so much happier! Hope this is just a passing thing now and you both don’t have to worry about it by the end of the year. ((Hugs)) for both of you.

  4. Paws are crossed that everything is calming down!

  5. Oh Sprocket you look more calm, cool, and collected in those photos….and I see “Sprocketty” in those eyes and THAT’s a good thing. We sure are hoping that things are settling down for ALL of you in time to enjoy the holidays……peacefully!

    Hugs, Pam and Sam

  6. SingingTuna says:

    AWWW!! YAY!!!!!! Such wonderful news!!! :) (from Pickles) :) (from Mila) :) (from me)

  7. Val says:

    That’s an interesting observation. My Gus gets the crazies and pulls his fur out on his back by his tail after he’s been running around playing. I guessed it was the itchy and that causes him to run around and act like a nut. Maybe it’s the running around that causes the itchy. Hmmm.

  8. crankypants says:

    Aw, glad he’s feeling better. He’s such a handsome guy. I hope he continues to get better and better and leave all this behind.

  9. Pretty kitty! I hope he continues to feel better! Did we talk about him getting static at some point wayyy back? Some of the kitties at the shelter end up zapping themselved on their blankets if they snuggle it too enthusiastically – it usually just makes them miffed for a second, but if he was already feeling freaked out by allergies or something..just a thought if it is really dry where you are at.

    • Lurkertype says:

      Yes, kitties get crackly in dry weather, or indoors in the winter with forced-air heating. It sometimes happens when I’m petting Miss Tortie, and you can imagine the dirty looks I get from her.

      I can see where running around would raise the blood pressure and alter the hormones, which would cause the itching and twitching. Like people with various skin diseases get worse when they exercise too much and get hot. Or they get asthma. It’s all immune system/allergies. So we have to keep Sprockers calm during this crisis.

    • littlemiao says:

      Dryness is definitely a huge problem right now. even with humidifiers running full blast the levels in this house are way too low. At the least it must be exacerbating his problem. it is so cold here and so windy. it’s been a crazy winter so far. I feel like my humidifiers are inadequate and I’m trying to get better ones but I can’t find better ones and a lot of them are sold out.

  10. Redscylla says:

    Glad there’s some relief for him. So frustrating when you can’t figure out what’s causing the trouble. I just recently started giving Josey salmon oil to deal with her incessant scratching. Even 3 days in, she seems less itchy.

  11. leendadll says:

    [This is good] I hope you have continued relief/success!!!
    I was reading that anxiety can be a trigger for feline hyperesthesia. Excitement = anxious.. so it makes sense that thinking of the treats might trigger an attack.
    I also read that you shouldn’t be over-attentive during an attack or it may turn into a behavioral issue – where they’ve gotten attention from it so often that they do it for attention. I dunno.

  12. aubrey says:

    I’m afraid that I’m not a kittie-expert so I can’t advise, but I recognize serenity when I see it, and I hope Sprocket possesses it for a long time!

  13. Cats & Co says:

    At least he’s feeling a bit better. Glad to hear!

  14. leendadll says:

    how are you and the kids doing?

    • littlemiao says:

      Better. Sprocket isn’t all better yet and I am still confused about the cause of it. He has not had a full “episode” for more than a week. The twitching is only occasional. He will be off the steroids soon. I don’t think they made a difference but it is hard to say. Not eating crunchies (they were grain free but maybe they had allergens) seems to have made a significant difference. I still wonder if he has spinal issues causing spasms that are related to strain from being a tripod.

      It has been a crazy month in a bunch of not so good ways and I have been struggling with anxiety more than ever. The fact that he has been improving consistently has been a big comfort otherwise I might have gone insane. I hope we haven’t been neglecting him by waiting to see what happens when he is 100% off the steroids.

      On 21 December 2013 19:24, the miao chronicles

      • Lurkertype says:

        Is he still getting massage or acupuncture for his unbalanced tripodity?

        I’m glad he hasn’t had a full episode and cutting the crunchies helped.

      • leendadll says:

        it’s so tough when you can’t figure out the cause and they can’t tell you exactly what they’re feeling. you’ve done a great job. i probably would have living in ER, pestering my vet till she hated us.

        sorry other things have been a bother. i hope it all changes to pure happiness this week!

Miao & Purr!

