I just want Sprocket to be sprocketty again

Update:
- He started Triamcinoline (corticosteroid) again Weds. night. Things improved immediately, though gradually, over the next two days.
- Saturday and Sunday and most of Monday were *very* good, with only short mini-episodes of twitchiness and overall his activities were getting back to normal
- Monday night – Tuesday: Episodes of twitchiness started to occur more frequently and last longer, but overall we were still encouraged by his overall progress
- Wednesday – morning: A period of more normal activity, but mid-morning twitchy episode started and he has confined himself to my bed. He runs back to my bed as soon as he is placed on the floor, back twitching, licking his tail agitatedly. This evening, he did not come to his meal for the first time since Saturday morning.

I am very discouraged and confused. We go to the best vet in town and they have really helped us through a lot. I am very frustrated, though, for many reasons that I will not enumerate here but some of which are obvious. It is too discouraging to keep rehashing everything.

The most heartbreaking thing is seeing Sprocket run to the edge of my bed excitedly because he sees crunchies in the hallway, but then not jump off my bed, I think because somehow movement exacerbates his discomfort, the hyperesthesia, allergic reaction, or pain related to his amputation or whatever.

I am so lost. Sprocket needs our help but at this point we don’t know what to do.

This entry was posted in miao updates, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to I just want Sprocket to be sprocketty again

  1. we hope you can find an answer soon….and we are sending purrs

  2. derrycats says:

    I am so sorry answers are so elusive…keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Poor Sprocks. i would guess there’s nothing to be done if the vet doesn’t know. Kitty Prozac? LittleM Prozac?

  4. It may be a seasonal thing that will go away with a heavy cover of snow. I was told by a friend who lives near you guys that you haven’t had real snow yet. Is this right? My kids’ allergies went away once we got snow, which probably covered up whatever they were allergic to.

    Hope Sprocket feels better soon.

    • littlemiao says:

      We got snow over the last couple days. It was pretty, but only an inch or two. Then tonight we got freezing rain and a lot of fog, and for the next week or so we’ll be lucky if temps get above 10 F, which means everything will be frozen with a layer of ice over it but the snow will be gone. If it means Sprocket will get better, then I won’t complain about the weather. It has been unusually cold for November.

      One thing the vet wasn’t able to explain to me was why they didn’t try antihistamines. A feline form after the digestive disaster that the one dose of children’s generic benadryl produced, because there is no way I’m giving him that same stuff again. The Hodgkins Your Cat book says they are the first choice in possible allergies, and he got an anti-histamine shot 1.5 yrs ago when he had the much shorter episode.

      We haven’t been able to speak directly to the vet since the first visit. Everything has been through their assistants. That also makes me unhappy since, given how many of our kitties they have seen over the years, I feel we deserve more attention than that. I feel that when I told them yesterday that Sprocket had overall improved and had maybe 2.5 good days, followed by a longer episode, and then a more minor episode Tues. am, they shouldn’t have brushed it off and ignored the fact that his symptoms were getting worse again. At that point they told me to start tapering his meds, which I will do since they obviously are what he needs.

      On 4 December 2013 20:13, the miao chronicles

  5. Lauri says:

    Oh little m. I’m in Florida for my MIL’S surgery. She’s doing just great. I so want Sprocket to get better. If he’s experiencing phantom pain would something like a prozac type drug help? Also Ken Mentioned Feliway. …A feline soothing thing you can order online. I am so sorry I am on my phone and can’t communicate easily. :(
    Google the Feliway…I don’t know anything about it. Hugs to all.

    • littlemiao says:

      thanks for stopping by, Lauri! very good suggestion. i am looking into Feliway. I have heard of it before but we’ve never used it. anything to help my baby Sprocker! I will mention phantom pain to the vet. I do not believe that is something they discussed. they didn’t really discuss many possible diagnoses.

  6. nadbugs says:

    So so sorry. Paw-wringing going on over here. Talk to Jackson Galaxy’s people at Spirit Essences? They have been super-nice to us in the past . . . . (310) 782-1200

  7. Awww *hug* poor you and Sprocket! Does he need extra brushing or anything like that? Does he mind you petting his back? Have you tried giving him a little bit of Rescue Remedy? I’ve heard that can help. Really hope he starts feeling better soon…and that you can get in touch with the vet, not just the assistants

    • littlemiao says:

      most of the time he is fine with pettings. in the middle of an episode once to twice he got a bit nippy or dashed away from me, so i am cautious when things are at their twitchiest. i’ve tried a bit of massage, too.

    • littlemiao says:

      I used Rescue Remedy to try to calm him down when he was locked in my room after his surgery. At that time, it didn’t make a dent on his excitability but this is a very different situation. i should give it a try again.

  8. amelie says:

    Hi Miao, I’m really sorry to hear this. I don’t know your vet, but from what you said in the comments they sound really uncaring. Sprocket is clearly suffering and needs a doctor. I have what I believe is the absolute best vet in our region, yet they are so popular they’ve become a mill and treat clients like crap sometimes. So I know what you’re going through.

    I’m glad to see you’ve read the Hodgkins book. Have you heard of Just Answer? It’s an online medical service (for humans and pets too) that for a fee answers questions online. I’ve used them and they’re pretty good. I will try to look and find a good vet on there in case you want to try it out.

    • littlemiao says:

      When I think about my problems with the vet, I realize that part of it may be that I haven’t been insistent enough. I will give them another chance but this time I will make it clear when their answer doesn’t actually answer my question. And I will try in a polite way to make it clear to them that I feel that they haven’t been proactive at all. I know them and trust(ed) them so it is difficult to reconcile their handling of Sprocket’s mystery syndrome with my other experiences with them.

      I’m really getting a lot out of the Hodgkins book.

  9. I have an abused cat with a lot of problems. One of them is allergy. He has allergical reaction to something in the food – but not always, just sometimes. We do not know what to do, either, but when his diarrhea gets worse or when he gets his twitchiness episodes and starts licking his hind legs until they are furless and full of blisters, I start my agrimonia treatment. Several times a day he gets agrimonia tea and after a few days thigs get back into normal. The whole thing started when he was one year old or so.

    • littlemiao says:

      thank you for sharing. I will have to look into agrimonia. I am glad it is helping your kitty. hopefully we will figure out what is causing Sprocket’s issue, or even if it is an allergy. at least his licking and twitchiness hasn’t been that severe – no lost fur or blisters.

  10. amelie says:

    Like this gal, Dr. Kara. I was slightly annoyed she suggested tuna juice (among other liquids) for a URI but she knew about L. Lysine which is kind of obscure so I was impressed by that. If you type in a question, it will show you how much you will be charged before you enter a card number. I’ve used it before with no issues. I don’t know much beyond my experience, but I can tell you these vets answer a range of questions so are probably pretty good at having medical range more so than a local vet.

    http://www.justanswer.com/veterinary/expert-drkara/

  11. Oh I just know this is truly driving you batty because you want your Sprocket to be back to his sprocketty ways. No doubt he’d like that too….has to be a bit confusing for him as well as for you. You say you have the best of vets but you SHOULD be able to talk directly to HIM if you need to. If that’s not happening for any reason, that takes him off the “best” list in my book! You need a second opinion at the very least…..something is NOT working that’s for sure. There’s got to be an answer. Nadbugs suggestion to contact Spirit Essences is a good idea for one thing but the second opinion from someone else might be too…..We hope this gets resolved for everyone’s sake because there’s nothing like that empty feeling when you see something’s amiss and you’re helpless…….truly.

    Sending hugs………..
    Pam and Sam

    • littlemiao says:

      thank you, Pam and Sam. He was doing well pretty consistently today. it was such a relief after last night, when things seemed to be going fast in the opposite direction.

  12. mariser says:

    :( we all want Sprocket at his sprocketty best. you are disappointed with your vet, for good reasons, but she has in the past, been excellent in Miao care, so I’d be hesitant to drop her – but a 2nd opinion is called for.

  13. Redscylla says:

    As someone who recently parted ways with my vet because I couldn’t get answers and couldn’t talk directly to the vet, I’m saying the time has come to get a second opinion. When I have any questions at all about Josey’s care or surgery recovery, I get to talk to the vet who performed her surgery. I feel like your vet is not doing good work if you can’t talk directly with them about Sprocket’s issues. *hugs*

    • littlemiao says:

      I never insisted on talking to the vet. I should have. The assistant would ask the vet and then get back to me, and when her answers weren’t satisfactory I wouldn’t press the issue because I guess I felt like that would be rude. So part of the communication issue is my fault. I’ve learned something from this and I won’t make the same mistake again.

  14. lauowolf says:

    How far are you from UW’s vet school?
    Years and years ago we drove a vey sick lady cat up to Davis from Berkeley for serious issues.
    I can’t remember whether we needed a referral or not.
    But I think it may be time to try something new.

    • littlemiao says:

      we’re about 2 hrs away from the UW vet school. i will definitely consider taking him there if things keep stalling. it is so difficult when we don’t know if his improvement today was due to anything we did or if it will hold through tomorrow or what.

Miao & Purr!

