My favorite vegan blogs

There are so many vegan blogs out there with yummy recipes and mouth-watering photography. Here are some of my favorites:

BitterSweet
– Exquisite photography. Every dish seems like it is about to pop out of the screen and into my mouth. Alas, that never really happens no matter how much I drool on the screen. My favorite recipe is the quiche. Perfect for summer when there are lots of zucchinis and yellow squashes floating around. It is a soy-free recipe – chickpea flour, potato starch, and nutritional yeast are the magical ingredients for semi-quichiness.

FatFree Vegan Kitchen
– I don’t try to avoid fat, but these recipes are delicious and generally accessible to my limited skills and pantry. Also, they’re not uniformly fat free. My favorite is possibly the Israeli Couscous Summer Pilaf, another summer dish. Perhaps my favorites are all reflections of my nostalgia for warmer days.

Holy Cow!: Vegan Recipes
– I love Indian cooking and this blog features plenty, along with other vegan yumminess. Railway mushroom curry is a relatively easy curry to make. My favorite recipe from this site is the carrot halwa, a wonderfully cardamomy treat that I have always wanted to be able to make myself and finally can.

Post Punk Kitchen
– This is the blog of Isa Moskowitz and Terry Romero, authors of my favorite vegan cookbooks, the Veganomicon and Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar. I’ve been too busy exploring the cookbooks to use any of the online recipes, but I have bookmarked plenty. I want to make this chana masala soon, and perhaps the frozen rhubarb I harvested this summer would be good in this strawberry rhubarb crumb pie.

Browsing through Vegan MoFo, I have discovered even more delightful food blogs.
cupcakes and kale caught my attention with its name – two of my favorite things to eat. I’ve never ever baked cupcakes myself (I only just recently acquired a cupcake pan), but I eat kale on an almost daily basis. The ginger sesame soba with kale is making my tummy growl right now, although I confess I still have mixed feelings about broccoli.

V.K.Rees Photography isn’t 100% dedicated to food, but there are plenty of great recipes accompanied by exquisite photos and occasional appearances by a lovely orange cat. See this lovely and simple kabocha squash recipe? I love kabocha almost as much as I love buttercup.

Looking through all these blogs has made me hungry. But not hungry enough to forget that I promised floof in every post.

Here are two more Purple Squash photos that I neglected to post earlier:
purplesquash 9-28-2011 1-42-12 PM
purplesquash 9-28-2011 1-49-24 PM

Papa Miao tells me that, in my absence, Sprocket has learned how to jump onto one of the lower windowsills. I wish I had been there to watch!

This entry was posted in food, you-sheng "sprocket" and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My favorite vegan blogs

  1. Vanessa says:

    oh my! i am honored to be sharing the page with such notable blogs. thank you for the mention. =)

    that kitty sure knows how to ham it up in front of the camera. too cute! <3

    • littlemiao says:

      you’re welcome! I could not resist the combination of delicious recipes, wonderful photos, and a beautiful kitty on your website. :) I hope you keep posting about food even after vegan mofo is over.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Soon nowhere in the household will be safe from Sprockey! Run Chun run!

  3. I can’t believe I haven’t had a kabocha yet this season. Shame on me. Thanks for the reminder! :)

  4. elizabethannewrites says:

    Sprockey’s kissing the squash! That is adorable!

    And he’s jumping? He’s incredible.

    Cool sites, too. (And I LOVE broccoli!)

    • littlemiao says:

      I’m trying to like broccoli. It is a long process that has been going on for years, but maybe I need to try harder, by cooking with it. I don’t like it raw and I don’t like it overcooked. It is hard to find the perfect compromise.

  5. aw, thank you so much for the shout out! if you’re not sold on broccoli, you should still go ahead and make the soba anyway and just double up on kale, or maybe toss in some roasted kabocha? mmmm…

Miao & Purr!

